The Lost Province of the Kingdom of Saxony

The Kingdom of Saxony is one of the thirty-nine component states of the German Confederation (*Deutscher Bund*), a crazy-quilt of semi-sovereign entities created, in 1815, by the Congress of Vienna. As one of the five fully-fledged kingdoms of the German Confederation, Saxony is much larger than the vast majority of the thirty-four states considered too small to rate royal status. (Of these, the vast majority are grand duchies, duchies, or principalities.) At the same time, it is dwarfed by the two great powers that dominate central Europe: the Kingdom of Prussia and the Empire of Austria. (Some of the lands of that pair of polyglot polities belong to the Confederation while others lie beyond its borders.)

Prior to 1815, the Kingdom of Saxony was much larger than it is today. In that year, the Congress of Vienna transferred more than 60 percent of Saxon territory, with a combined population of some 120,000 souls and an area of more than 25,000 square kilometers, to the Kingdom of Prussia. As might be imagined, the loss of this land, which now bears the oxymoronic moniker of "Prussian Saxony," is a cause of much resentment among Saxon patriots.

